Showing posts with label review. Show all posts
Showing posts with label review. Show all posts

Friday, August 1, 2014

Soap Nuts Liquid Laundry Detergent Review.



Raise your hand if you feel like you are constantly doing laundry! 

*Raises hand!* 

Honestly, if I want to keep up with laundry I do at least a load a day. It piles up quick! Between different outfit changes for the kids and adults, the towels, and blankets constantly used. Oh & bedding. Wait I forgot the couch cushion covers, those get dirty often too.  It just won't stay under control. Needless to say, we go through A LOT of detergent. So when I was given the opportunity to review Soap Nuts Liquid Laundry Detergent , I was thrilled. 


Before I get to my opinion of this detergent, lets talk about what it claims to have to offer me (us).

Made from Saponin (natural soap) & water.
100% Non-Toxic
Long lasting.
Softer clothes.
Hypoallergenic and net negative carbon footprint.

Well, we are loving this so far. I use this to wash my towels and blankets, which are a daily wash. I did notice it had a stronger maybe strange scent when I opened it and worried about that transferring to my clothes, but nope! Worked great! Blankets & towels were super clean, smelled great and felt great. Definitely loving the pump top of this bottle, makes it so much easier to do laundry versus having to pour from a bottle. 



I received one or more of the products mentioned above for free using Tomoson.com. Regardless, I only recommend products or services I use personally and believe will be good for my readers.


Follow on Bloglovin





Wednesday, July 30, 2014

Simply Vitamin C Serum Review.




I love trying new products out on my skin. If it promises to help hydrate it, make my skin look younger, why the heck not? Especially if you get it for free. Yes, I received this product for free, and am writing out my exact thoughts & feelings of it. 

What did I get?




What did it say it would do for me?

Improve: texture, glow, and smoothness of complexion.
Increase: Collagen Production (younger looking skin)
Brighten Hydrate & Moisturize my skin.
Reverse damage.
It contains: Vit C, Hyaluronic Acid, & Vitamin E.

What did I think?

I've tried a couple other Vitamin C Serums, all different of course. So I was quite disappointed when I started noticing this particular one caused my face to start breaking out! Eek! I stopped using it for a few days let my skin clear up, then tried at it again for another week and it still caused it to break out. Now I'm not sure what it was that caused the breakouts but I know this was definitely part of the problem. With the other serums my breakouts healed faster and even stopped. I feel awful that I didn't get to try this out for a full 30 days in a row, I just couldn't take having my skin break out so much.

Ever try something that you think you'll love, only to find out it just didn't work for you? 


I received one or more of the products mentioned above for free using Tomoson.com. Regardless, I only recommend products or services I use personally and believe will be good for my readers.




Follow on Bloglovin



Monday, July 14, 2014

Natures Best Vitamin C Serum Review



It wasn't until I started getting older and after having both of my girls that I really stepped up my skin care routine. I mean I didn't really care what the bottles said and didn't have any special tricks up my sleeve for nice skin. Heck I'm not sure I even used a moisturizer until this last year. (Eek! I know right?!)




I've been using a nice face wash as well as a tone lately, and more recently I added Natures Best Vitamin C Serum. To my morning make-up routine. Just a little about this Vitamin C Serum:


Made for all skin types.

Made from Pure Natural Organic ingredients.
Helps to reduce acne (removes toxins).
Creates Collagen (gives firmer, healthier skin).
Reduces Skin damage
Makes skin look younger

Has a lot to live up to doesn't it? Well not going to lie, I was pretty hesitant about this stuff actually working. It wasn't until I was 21 that I started breaking out, and when I did it was bad, and oh the scars it left behind. 




Ick, I really thought I had taken good pictures. I'm really hoping the after pictures will show a change. This was the day I got the Vitamin C, the first time I actually put it on before bed. I loved the dropped in the bottle, it made it so easy to put straight on my face. It rubbed in nicely and didn't have a scent. 



Ha, so maybe my before & afters aren't that great, but I can tell you, when I look into the mirror, I can see a difference. My makeup covers my scars or current breakouts better. My skin is softer and brighter. Absolutely love using the Vitamin C. It's become part of my daily makeup routine. 

Have you used Vitamin C Serum before? What did you like about it? If you're thinking about it, what questions do you have?

I received one or more of the products mentioned above for free using Tomoson.com. Regardless, I only recommend products or services I use personally and believe will be good for my readers.


Follow on Bloglovin








Wednesday, July 2, 2014

Grazia Silicone Mini Muffin Pan Review




I love to be in the kitchen. I make the majority of the meals for our family. One of my favorite things to throw together is meatloaf, more specifically mini-meatloaves. I have the hardest time when it comes to meatloaf sticking to the pan. No matter what pan I use. So when I was given the chance to try our the Grazia Silicone 24 Cup MINI Muffin Pan guess what I chose to make!

Mini meatloaves! Yay! I won't be sharing a recipe because I just start throwing things in the bowl and see how it smells, even though I have an amazing recipe just tucked away in one of my many cookbooks. Here's a little about this muffin pan:

 --non-stick food grade silicone 
--extremely easy to clean, 
--safe to use in the oven, microwave, dishwasher, or freezer
--heat resistant  up to 450°F.
--FDA Approved
--High Quality Construction
--Manufactured in Socially Compliant Facility

I LOVE this pan. My mini meatloaves were the perfect size, and came out of the pan perfectly! Nothing stuck behind! When it came to cleaning it, seriously easiest thing to clean ever. Tomorrow when I'm making birthday cupcakes, guess what pan I will be using! If you're looking for a new mini muffin pan, definitely consider getting this one, I absolutely love it and highly recommend it to anyone looking for one!


I received one or more of the products mentioned above for free using Tomoson.com. Regardless, I only recommend products or services I use personally and believe will be good for my readers.


Follow on Bloglovin



Monday, June 23, 2014

Hot Yoga Towel Review





Believe it or not, I love to do yoga and pilates. I'm not the most flexible and my poses are very rough but it's easy on my old lady hips and I love it. One thing that has been hard for me, (besides some of the crazy poses) is the fact that my feet slip on my mat. I don't dare go too deep in a pose for fear of falling or slipping too far forward.Well thankfully Shandali thought of this with their Hot Yoga Towel.


Towel Info:

Microfiber
Super Absorbent & Quick-drying
Anti-slip,
Mat sized (24" x 72")

My Thoughts:
Eek! Vacuum cord, running puppy and some candy made it into this picture.

Loved it! Not only did this towel cover my yoga mat perfectly, it was soft (and not irritating) I didn't slip. I feel like I was able to hold my poses better, ones that specifically had more weight towards one direction and wasn't worried about sweaty feet making my slip. I was able to throw it in the wash after a couple uses, and it was easy and still looks great. Definitely recommend this product!


I received one or more of the products mentioned above for free using Tomoson.com. Regardless, I only recommend products or services I use personally and believe will be good for my readers.



Follow on Bloglovin




Saturday, June 21, 2014

Pure Dead Sea Mud Mask Review



As a mom I've come to accept a few things: I will never be alone unless by some miracle my husband can distract our two girls for more than 10 seconds, little hands will always be on touching my face (making it that much more susceptible to breaking out), when I finally get my alone time I want to use it well and lately I want it to be used for relaxing. One thing I've turned to in the past couple years to help me enjoy some alone time are face masks. I love to grab a few at the store and try them out when I get a chance. 

When I got the chance to try the Pure Dead Sea Mud Facial Mask I was thrilled! I had heard about Dead Sea face mask on the TV before, and really wanted to try one! Here's a little of what Pure says about this particular facial mask:

 " Dead Sea Mud contains more than 21 skin-reviving minerals including magnesium, calcium, sulfur, bromide, iodine, sodium, zinc and potassium. These essential minerals are present in our bodies, but are lost as we get older. These minerals are known to treat, detoxify, and cleanse our skin, to keep it looking young and refreshed"

Their facial mask  contains "100% pure, natural and certified organic ingredients" this means it is free of "sulfates, phosphates and parabens. cruelty free, vegan certified." All of that sounds great doesn't it?! I couldn't wait to give it a try, so one night when my girls were distracted I snuck away to my bathroom with my sister and her friend (all three of us with very different skin types) and we tried it out!


Before I give you our thoughts on this Mud Mask take a look at the benefits they say this mask has:

 "Anti-aging properties tighten pores promoting young, healthy natural skin. Rich Dead Sea minerals clean, heal, soften and revitalize your skin for an all-day glow. Organic essential oils moisturize and hydrate your skin, helping to reduce wrinkles."

Okay we loved this mask. I continue to do this mask weekly, and am constantly being questioned by my sister & her friend about when we will get to do it again. The first time we put this mask on it got warm, like a deep down in your pores, is it burning to you, will my face be red or will my skin fall of type warm. We were concerned, after a minute there was this big relief, a big cooling relief. After washing it off, no one had red irritated skin, our skin didn't feel dry and crave lotion, we all agreed our skin felt great. 

Only positives on this face mask! It came quickly after I ordered it, came packaged great, it wasn't a disaster to open. It was great to wear, made our skin look and feel great. Just great, great, great! Have you tried this mask out before? If not, are there any other great face masks that you recommend?

I received one or more of the products mentioned above for free using Tomoson.com. Regardless, I only recommend products or services I use personally and believe will be good for my readers.
Follow on Bloglovin



Tuesday, June 17, 2014

Alphabet Jumbled Review

Disclosure: I got this product as part of an advertorial.

As a mom there are so so many things that I worry about for my daughter. As she's turned three and we've started talking Pre-School this fall, or even just a simple fun dance/play class to keep her entertained and get a foot into the class setting. Whatever my husband and I decide, we have both agreed that we need to make sure she's constantly learning new things at home. One big thing on our list is to make sure she knows both her uppercase and lowercase ABC's. 

We do flashcards and we write on our chalkboard top table, but I knew there was more we could do. I was thrilled when I got the opportunity to review the Alphabet Jumbled App. Here's a little of what this app does and how it will help your child learn!




We provide 5 fun steps in Alphabet Jumbled to learn your A B C!
▶ KNOW YOUR A B C - Recognize the 26 letters
▶ FLASH CARDS - Familiarize with the ABCs
▶ EASY JUMBLE - Start un-jumbling 5 letters jumbles
▶ JUMBLE A-Z - Arrange the alphabets in the correct order in the shortest time possible!
▶ JUMBLE CHALLENGE - Can you un-jumbled all the letters under a minute?
Our advice: Practice your jumbles before heading here! "


Obviously some of these pieces were a little too hard for Miss A to do alone(Anything with Jumble in it), but she still had fun with some help. We've really enjoyed using this app and watching Miss A be excited to look at her ABC's on "my black iPad". This app has been a great help with reinforcing what she's being taught throughout the day. It's always great to find a good app that is helping children learn something in a new way. Miss A & I would definitely recommend this app to anyone that is looking for a fun learning app for their kids. 

I received one or more of the products mentioned above for free using Tomoson.com. Regardless, I only recommend products or services I use personally and believe will be good for my readers.

Follow on Bloglovin



Tuesday, June 10, 2014

Play With Tales: Little Red Hiding Hood Review & Giveaway

Disclosure: I got this product as part of an advertorial.

Did you read that title up there?! This review includes a giveaway!
For the past almost month I've been able to watch Miss A review a couple apps for me. It's been such fun seeing her get excited over it. 


"Mom buy me game?"

"Yes, mom got this for you let's see what it does."
"Oh thank you mom, thank you." 

I mean really, how sweet is she. (You'd agree if you could see her face and hear her cute little voice when she says it. Well this is a review so let's get to it. 

Let's start with a little about PLAY WITH TALES: LITTLE RED HIDING HOOD


This app is a part of the new Play with Tales Series from Ebooks&Kids.
Based on the ever popular story of Little Red Riding Hood, this app features



Puzzles


Memory Games



Coloring Pages



All with varying levels of difficulty. This app also supports APPen functionalities. 

We have really enjoyed using this app. Yes I played along too, just to make sure Miss A showed me all of the awesome things it does. Honestly, no negatives thoughts from us! We have loved this app & hope you will too!




I received one or more of the products mentioned above for free using Tomoson.com. Regardless, I only recommend products or services I use personally and believe will be good for my readers.

Follow on Bloglovin





Sunday, May 25, 2014

Mommy Summers Reviews: Bamboo Cutting Boards

Disclosure: I got this product as part of an advertorial.

If you've been reading here lately you will know that we've been trying out a more clean eating type approach to our meals. If you know anything about clean eating you know that means LOTS of fresh fruits and veggies. I spend most of my time chopping up things. 


Let's take a moment to admire my chalk board table background. 

First off, these bamboo cutting boards are beautiful! Absolutely love the way they look. Second, when I was cutting some bigger/harder items, (squash, corn on the cob) the board did not run away from me. 


Close up of the smallest cutting board.

When it came time to wash them down, I was worried about the way they would look afterwards. Well after use 1 it still looked great. Day 2 I used the same large board to peel and make zucchini noodles and after I washed it I noticed it was starting to umm... I want to say peel. 
Just pointing to a few of the peeling areas.


It isn't splintering off, but the some pieces are starting to pull up. Now I've been looking around on forums and through reviews to see what people have to say about the boards doing this, if its the way I washed it (with a scrub brush in the sink) or if this happens during the first couple washes. I haven't really found much so far, though some have mentioned they splintered after their first wash. Have you guys had any experience with this? 


Moving on, after I saw that with the large cutting board I decided I'd better give the medium and smaller board a go and see what happens. Well only 2 small peels in the medium board after a use & wash and none in the small board.

On another note, they mention that these boards have "Anti-Bacterial Properties"  and while it sounds great to me, I just can't bring myself to cut raw meat on them. There's something about not being able to throw them in the dishwasher that makes me uncomfortable with that idea. 

So just to sum it up for those of you looking for a quick review:

Pros:
Beautiful to look at.
Great varying sizes.
Doesn't slip while cutting.
Easy to clean.
Light weight. 

Cons:
Peeling(?)
My fear of using meat on it.(Of course only a personal negative.)

So would I recommend these to you? To tell you the truth, I just don't know if I would recommend these or not. I feel like the smaller & medium ones wore better but they aren't the ideal size for anything more than just a smaller cut. Maybe another larger board will be better than the current one I have. Maybe I'm doing something wrong with it, though I feel like the instructions were pretty easy, just use, hand wash and occasionally treat with mineral oil. So again if you have any tips on what I'm doing wrong, or how I can fix this please let me know!
I received one or more of the products mentioned above for free using Tomoson.com. Regardless, I only recommend products or services I use personally and believe will be good for my readers.

Follow on Bloglovin




Wednesday, June 20, 2012

Eyelashes.

Remember how I went and got my eyelashes permed last Thursday & had a post ready for Friday & never actually got it scheduled or posted? Well here's that post.

Eyelash perm = fail :(

My eyelashes barely curled. Good thing I just went to see my friend so it was free, and she'll try again some other time if I want. Pretty bummed about that. But the process was pretty interesting and pretty relaxing. Next time I get it done, I'll definitely include pictures. I just didn't have an extra person with me this time around! 

Anyway, so I got this new mascara to try out when I was out wandering Wal-Mart looking for something to try. I figured I needed to try something new & it would give me something to blog about!


The first day I tried, I was pretty friggin' disappointed. It looked like crap & the brush sucked. Well I didn't want to give up  after one try so I tried again.

This time I followed the directions, which say 

 "For best results, apply the Flexor Brush against the lashes and sweep from root to tip until a full plush look is achieved. Do not let dry between coats." 

So I tried that out & BAM! I was in love! It works great with the false lashes I use. Definitely don't let it dry between coats, it works much much better! I even love it on my bottom lashes! That's surprising, I rarely wear mascara on the bottom lashes because it's hard getting it thick & dark enough without looking like a clumpy eyelashed fool. 

Seriously, try it out sometime. I'm sure you'll love it too! I just haven't figured out why the brush would bend like that, when there is no way for me to be able to push on my lashes hard enough for it to bend.Anyone know why? I could guess but maybe you know for sure? 

I've tried a bunch of different mascaras and would definitely use this again. 

What kind of mascara do you use? 
 I'd love to try another one out.


Picture & directions found here.
Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...